The Journey of going free and lance

zehra ozdemir portfolio site

After not being able to write for months now I realize that blogging actually takes a lot of determination. It is not only the time issue but dedication of sharing your every moment with world. Actually once you make it a habit, it becomes part of your life and need. If you start a new journey like I did and go with the current you might find yourself not touching your blog for ages.

Anyway here I am ready to share what has been happening in my life. In March I have decided to take a radical move and quit my job. The reason can be categorised as common or personal, its up to you. Being a woman in the IT world, especially being a woman as a programmer in IT world can be tough. People look at you with the eyes of “oh not so many potential” or “you might brake your nails when you are tying hon”. So in my previous company I had to work with this very small, young and determined boys who never worked with a woman in fact I figured it out they were not comfortable with my presence    at all. Whereas my expectation of working with a small team was intimacy and friendship. Being able to a team and making decision as being part of a team.

The treatment I received was complete opposite. I did not get good mornings, have a good days, “hey are you up for a beers” or “what do you thing about this, should we do it like thats”. I have received emails from the guy who sits 1 meter away from me saying “Do this job..” instead of turning and having a one simple sentence with me.

Do not put this into the emotional scene in a professional life. I simply wanted to be treated as a professional and a person who deserved to put an opinion about the workflow. After couple of months expecting for a change, I have given up and said myself I am done with this.

Now I am trying to stood on my feet as a freelance web developer who is trying to make a living. Recently I have launched my portfolio site hoping it would be handy at one point. Please check out the link and let me know what do you think. I will share the rest of the journey soon(hopefully not in a couple of months period again)

http://zehwouaweb.com/

Stay confident, happy and positive

Leave a Reply

